June Culinary Appreciation Thread

I thought that since it seemed like everyone enjoyed the last culinary thread that we’d try to make this a regular monthly thread until people get bored with it.

So post all your pictures of your amazing foods, baked goods, and kitchen gadgets here. Be aware that we will almost certainly ask for recipes, so providing them ahead of times is good form.

8 Likes

This is salmon with a sauce that contains garlic, lemon, pepper and mustard.

And some stir fry veggies, cooked rather done. Kind of just seasoned to taste with spices, butter and soy sauce.

4 Likes

Looks great! We try to have fish (or other seafood) once a week if we can, and salmon is almost always what ends up on the plate. I like to sous vide it simply because then I can’t possibly overcook it.

I’ve never tried the sous vide before. I’ve just gotten pretty good at knowing what it looks and sounds like when its done in the oven. My dad and stepmom were pretty terrible with overcooking salmon when i was a kid :nauseated_face:.

I actually have more trouble with steak, i always end up with medium steak instead of rare steak.

1 Like

Not sure why small cucumbers are expensive at regular grocery stores but Zion Market in Lewisville or H-Mart in Carrollton have good prices.

Made some refrigerator pickles. Dilly Dilly!

3 Likes

I’ve got those tiny 3-ish" cucumbers growing in the garden right now that I have plans to make pickles with. I rarely see smaller cucumbers at my grocery store.

1 Like

Sous Vide steak is great, especially with a reverse sear, as long as everyone likes their steaks cooked to the same level. Its harder to do multiple done-nesses in sous vide.

1 Like

You should make Sous Vide Egg Bites.

Equipment:
Sous Vide gear
4oz mason jars (6-10)

Ingredients:
300g Eggs (~6 eggs - most large eggs are 50g/each)
300g Whipping Cream and/or Cottage Cheese*
3g Salt

*Depending on how rich you want them, I do 50:50.

Optional: