Jerky makers,... beef or other

Ive been making jerky for many years. Yesterday I picked up this jerky slicer

https://www.academy.com/shop/pdp/game-winner®-meat-tenderizer-and-jerky-slicer#repChildCatid=3193005

I gotta tell you it’s night & day difference. I used to slice all the jerky by hand, which sucked.

My next move will probably be a vacuum marinator tumbler.

13 Likes

Nice! I usually partially freeze mine and slice it with a boning knife, and I don’t really have a problem but it is kind of tedious.

Any marinade favorites? Mine is pretty basic.

I have used many over the years. Usually use a dry rub but just tried a marinade of worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, cayenne, curing salt, pepper & garlic powder.

2 Likes

What’s the Makerspace price (and discount!) per pound for your next production run?

5 Likes

Claude’s brisket sauce. Also what I use for brisket. It is essentially liquid smoke with a healthy amount of spices so each piece of meat has a light sprinkling of spice on it. And I agree, partially freeze the meat first then use a mandolin at 2-3 mm to cut.

2 Likes

Donate at least $10-25 to the hackerspace committee then let me know what flavor type one wants and I’ll donate a pound of my next run.

1 Like

Nice. I use a cutting board that has a lip around the outer perimeter 1/4 and 3/8” (opposite sides) higher than the cutting surface. Guides knife for uniformly thick slices easily and quickly. No need to freeze meat, though a light freeze makes things even more uniform.

When are Y’all doing a taste test along packaged jerky available to trade for monetary donations???

I don’t need a label that shows what’s in it(as long as no one is playing Jeffery Dahmer) or how it isn’t packaged for retail sale etc

5 Likes

Yes, a light freeze. Just enough to stiffen the meat so you can handle it easier.

Gotta say I have tried various methods over the years.
Including DIY contraption made of knife drawer to make thin slices.
Then this