Intro to Electronics

Hey Everyone!

I was wondering if anyone would have any interest in teaching an Intro to Electronics class. Checked the schedule and didn’t seem to see anything.

I work in video production so I am using electronic devices every single moment of the day. But I am a total newbie in terms of understanding how these things operate internally and only have very basic knowledge on how it’s happening on the fundamental level.

I can guarantee my wife and I would attend if scheduling works out, so that’s 2 people for sure. I know the magic number is 3 for a class.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks!!

1 Like

@Corbimos We should have an electronics class for sure, but first let’s define “basics”. That could mean Ohms law, Kirchoff’s laws, etc., but I don’t think these require much instruction, and there are numerous, great resources for these online.

I recommend starting at a practical place most people are probably interested: parts of a circuit board (power supply, inputs, outputs), methods of circuit analysis (nodal, loop, etc.), then cover either power supply topologies, amplifier types/topologies, or maybe useful transistor/opamp circuits like common-* followers, unity gain opamp, etc.

Given how often questions arise which are solved/addressed by knowledge of Ohm’s law, Kirchoff’s laws, etc. in the Electronics Shop, I suggest that it does require instruction for our members. At the very least the ability to ask a live human questions. It seems that too much of the information already out there doesn’t
make sense to a large portion of the maker community.

Once you have the basics, much of the rest simple follow. You do some basic math and can determine before putting components or wire togther that it “will not work”.