Interest in an August Chainmail class?

I’ve been making armor and jewelry from chainmail since the mid 1980s

I’d like to offer a class in basic and advanced chainmail assembly if there’s interest.

I’m always available for questions and advice.

7 Likes

You should definitely do this, chainmail has always been a good pass time for me. I’d be interested in some of the more intermediate patterns.

Ive also wanted to make a jig for making my own rings

Making and cutting the rings is a major problem. I have long wanted one of these

http://www.potterusa.com/39-koil-kutter-tooling

I cut my own rings in a number of different ways for years and finally stopped. I now only buy them off the shelf from a few different sources, or, if I need a lot of them, contract with a spring company locally to have them made to spec. I’ll only work in stainless as the anodized aluminum looks extremely bad when it starts to flake and the rings are literally too soft for me to work with.

I would be interested in this.

Sincerely,
Tim Nielsen

1 Like

I weave maille as well…would be interested in some intermediate level projects or big group project like maybe a DMS logo inlay showpiece or something.

1 Like

Yes I have two bags of links, about 35lbs

To the teacher for this class, have you checked to see if the pliers we have are sturdy enough for the stainless steel rings? I don’t tend to use them so I am sure how stiff they are.

I would be interested in some classes, basic to start. I have done some on my own, but I was not happy with my results

Size of ring and hardness of material as well as hand strength will guide an individual to the right choice of tools. For the tiny stuff I use 2 good pair of needlenose. For most all else - I use 2 pair of old loose channel lock pliers as the best choice ergonomically speaking.

The BEST advice I can give you is, to start - use whatever you’ve got and , if you stick with it, then make a more careful considered choice of tools.