I need to be introduced to the large lathe

I have some machine knowledge - I own a CNC mill, but have no experience with lathes. Interested in turning aluminum. Can someone show me around, any evening?

To be able to use it yourself you’d need to take the class.

Also interested 20 characters

anyone planning on actually offering a class on the Colchester anytime soon?

-Jim

Which mill do you have and what software do you use?

Okay. So, do you know when the next class is?

I don’t teach in the machine shop yet, you can check the calendar or ask around in the shop.

Bill,

I had hosted some classes in mid June. While I would not normally teach again for 6 weeks, there is also another fellow that needs introduction to the metal lathe, so I could have a special class just for two. The other fellow can do Tuesday or Wednesday. Which days and times can you do?

I would like to save the time of the in class room session (normally, about an hour) by having you and Jim do the slide show and select MIT Machine Shop videos 8 ,9 & 10 as self study. Since the machine shop committee is in the mode of beta testing a self study and quiz pass model for part I of training required machine classes, I would like to give it a first test drive on you and Jim. The slide show and quiz are at:

Committes Drive N:/machine shop/training/ClausingColchester/ CluasingColchester101 2018 with quiz.

The idea is that we would meet at machine side at the agreed time and you will tell me the password. You will be certain of the pass word being right because it is an actual word that relates to the lathe. In the future the class registrant will use the password to register for part II of the required training -machine side instruction, by entering the word into a dialog box that enters his/her name in the AD for having passed the quiz, that is completed part I, a prerequisite for part II. But we are not ready with all this just yet.

2 Likes