How to make a fiberglass handle?

Hi there. Does anyone here know how to make a fiberglass axe handle? I have a client who wants me to make him a “tactical tomahawk” and he has specifically asked for a fiberglass handle. My google searches have turned up no results. Any help that you can provide would be appreciated.

Multiposts are not needed. I got to read this 3 times.

The guy you need to talk to is Joe King. He is not at the space currently. He does fiberglass with boats. He is a very good. Anyone have contact information?

1 Like

How big of a handle? Is this a prop or for real use? What’s your experience with composites? How much effort do you want to spend on this?

You want to search on “micarta”. Ex (part 1 of 3):

the customer wants the handle to be about 14 inches long for a fully functioning hatchet. i have very little experience in composites, i was mostly trying to figure out if this would end up needing to be an industrial process, or if it could be done by hand

It can be done by hand… it’s not particularly difficult, but we don’t really have the tools to do it (mostly a vacuum pump) and doing it well requires a fair amount of practice and experience. You’d probably be better off buying one online.

i’ve spent the past week looking for one. no one seems to sell synthetic handles for hatchets or tomahawks. all of them seem to be integrated into the head. also doesn’t the arts and crafts room have a vacuum pump? or is that not strong enough?

Dasco sells them for axes and looks to have a small one, but it’s straight and probably not shaped like you’d want for a hatchet.

Edit: Here’s a link to their site: http://www.dascopro.com/replacement-handles

1 Like

I didn’t know about CA’s pump.