How much interest do we have in a Sewing and/or quilting 101 course(s)?

I’m very much self-taught when it comes to sewing, but I would be more than willing to pass on the knowledge I have.

2 Likes

Hopefully there’s some sewing 101 classes soon as I will be doing some leather on the sewing machine classes and I will have a prerequisite that folks need to know how to safely use the Machines first.

I bet there would be interest in making t-shirt quilts.

1 Like

FWIW, we bought a couple Shape Cut rulers and we also bought a 1/4" foot for each of the Janome’s. Both of those should help with quilt piecing projects.

5 Likes

I am interested in basic sewing courses.

Beth teaches some basic sewing classes

Is there any thing specific that you are interested in making

It is always hard to figure out what will attract folks

interested. After June.

JR

Also interested. Tried to make the last few a while back but never could work out the time.

Ill put a class up tonight

6 Likes

Nothing specific, but I think a lot of people are hesitant to use the sewing area because it says that they require training, but there’s not a lot of sewing classes on the events calendar for them to get trained. Its mostly one-on-one from what I’m told.

I was thinking of teaching a basic quilting course, but if I do that I’d like to make the basic sewing course a prerequisite so that we’re not teaching people how to use the machines at the same time.

2 Likes

Agree! I taught a basic quilt-piecing class. I made it a prerequisite that people either had the basic sewing machine course or brought their own machine. The course took longer than I had planned and if we had covered sewing machine usage it would have been even longer.

1 Like