Help needed prototyping patented vertical swim fin

WHO: I’m a new member - I joined because I’m told there are a couple of thousand other members who are skilled craftsmen/craftswomen, many of whom are also inventors. MakerSpace is the home of experienced hands and brains that can help me figure out how to prototype my invention.

WHAT: I have a patent on a vertical swim fin that I believe will propel underwater swimmers at much higher speeds with much less effort - now at the “prove it” stage. I’m not very good with my hands and need help building a working prototype - mostly with the horizontal cross-piece to which the swimmer will connect his/her feet. Selection of viable materials is also of great importance.

WHY: In addition to possible use by Navy SEALS, there is a HUGE market with “swim finners” (international competitive under-water swimmers who use something like a big fiberglass putty knife to swim like dolphins - comparatively inefficient).

Opinions & suggestions welcomed.
Thanks,
George

Here’s the Patent (pdf). If I’m interpreting the application correctly, the basic premise is that a walking motion moves the fin back and forth.

1 Like

Hi, Hank. The design was subsequently modified to more closely resemble the fin of a marlin, shark, barracuda or similar efficient, fast-swimming fish. There is a horizontal crossbar to which the swimmer’s feet are attached; the swimmer uses an alternating pumping action (imagine the hips are pistons, the legs are connecting rods). The closest analogy I have is walking up steep stairs or climbing a ladder. Because of this, MUCH more power can be transmitted to the fin than the conventional “scissor” kick. When I climb a ladder, each leg is generating a force of about 200 lbs (cuz that’s what I weigh). Generating 200 lbs of force at my ankles using the scissor kick is beyond my pay grade.