Help me make animal shelter blankets?

I was wondering if anyone would be willing to help me make blankets for the animal shelter I volunteer at. I have some very soft, fuzzy blankets [that are slippery and a bit of a pain to sew] that I’d like to turn into a set of blankets for our adoption trailer.

Each big blanket, when cut in two, is the perfect size. I’ve been folding them in two, sewing lines to make pouches, and stuffing them with a little old pillow stuffing…then sewing them closed.

This first photo is the actual bed. The others are similar examples that show better details of how they are sewn.

Anyone feel like making one or two? They don’t have to be identical, and they don’t have to be perfect. The dogs don’t care, and the public can’t see the details behind the plexiglass. I need a whole bunch of them. :slight_smile:

Thanks!

3 Likes

I’m looking at 16 beds plus extras since they sometimes get eaten :smile:

1 Like

I would be willing to help, I’m a novice at best :grinning:. Do you have a deadline to get them done?

Make it into an event. See who sees who will come help.

I am a novice with the sewing machines and would be willing to be part of a team. My straight seams are pretty good as long as I am not distracted (squirrel!!).

If I have the concept down correctly. 3 side and part of the 4th would be sewn inside out. Flipped right side out. Stuffed with animal safe padding then manually or machine have the last part of the seam sewn???

Easy peasy.

It would be a fun group project.

I know the sewing machines have been out for repairs. Do not plan anything until they get back.

Let me know when.

5 Likes

Definitely make it an event on the calendar. I’ve got two Makers in my house (who are not active on Talk) who are generally available day or night and would be willing to help with this. Sewing AND helping animals… you’ll get them every time!

All of the machines have been back for a month. Schedule away!

1 Like