Help! Maybe should have passed on this commission

Hi!

I’m new to the makerspace and looking forward to getting more acquainted.

Have a question. I’m building a coffee table for a friend (but it’s a paying job, lol) and it’s just too big for my garage shop and I feel it’s also beyond my skill level at this point.

I had a thought this weekend and was wondering if this is something that has ever been done. My thought was to enlist a few other makers to help me put this thing together and either split the proceeds between the makers that help or donate the proceeds to the makerspace. I don’t want any of the proceeds if I can get this thing done for my friend.

Thanks in advance for any questions comments or concerns (there’s part of me that wonders if this ask is appropriate here, if not I’ll remove ASAP).

Joe

Can you give us an idea of what it’s supposed to look like, versus what it is now?

Thanks for your question. It’s mostly rough sawn 8/4 Ash right now. I planed a few boards of it down with my planer but was not happy with my results. When I get home I’ll post a pic of the end product.

It’s actually a Restoration Hardware design, it just wasn’t the right size for my friend. dimensions are 57" x 43" x 18.5"

How big is that one piece in the middle? And is that going to be solid wood, or a box? You have patterns or schematics you’ve been working off of?

That’s a big coffee table lol

1 Like

Yeah if you could provide schematics of the shape of that middle part, then it would help.
What issues were you having with the planed boards?

1 Like

Yeah, having connectivity issues with my home computer right now otherwise I would post the drawings I made in solidworks. I have a maker license for solidworks and it’s all browser based so I’m handcuffed at this time.

It’s not solid in the middle, a box.

I built a sled to run the long pieces through the planer with shims etc to counteract the twist etc of the boards but it just wasn’t working the way it should.