Glass Engraving class? I'd like to start one

Hello All. I hope you’re well.
My name is Christopher Burns and I’m an engraving artist. I hand engrave many materials however my passion is in glass. I would like to set up a hand engraving class,and would like to consult with the appropriate persons in the department for the best course of action.
I’m the kinda guy that’s gotta circle the pond before I go skinny dippin’, and I need a guide to keep me outta patches of poison ivy! Hahaha!
Thanks to anyone that can help.

threedegreescustomart.com
instagram @kurisutefuru

9 Likes

Not an answer to your question. However, I’m just curious: does cutting arbitrary curves and beveling glass fall within your expertise, or is that more of a patch of poison ivy that you tend to avoid? Asking for a friend …

Hi Darrent. unfortunately I don’t have the specialized equipment for glass beveling, and I haven’t done a lot of curved line glass cutting. I certainly know the principles involved, and I’m not afraid to try.

2 Likes

Hey Christopher. What kinds of tools, space, and equipment are needed to do this kind of hand engraving? That I know of, we don’t have anyone at DMS that currently does this. It would help to know what supplies are needed, to point you to the right committee.

1 Like

Thanks Webdevel. I currently have a few dremel 400/flex shaft, 1 dremel 9100, 1 foredom sr flexshaft. The smaller dremels need brushes for their motors, but are inexpensive and easy to fix.
I can think of a lot of ways to go about this, which is why I want to meet with someone to work out space and set up. I’m willing to meet at other’s convenience provided I’m not previously obligated.

3 Likes

I’m going to guess it falls more under Glassworks, but Jewelry also has a flex shaft.

Paging @meanbaby

1 Like

Do you know much about engraving metal? I’d love to pick someone’s brain about a couple of ideas.