Fusion Laser Gauge Missing

The laser gauge on the fusion is gone. Someone or something looks to have broken it. I looked but couldn’t find the missing gauge to try to reattach it or utilize it in any manner. Is anyone aware that the gauge is gone, and if so, is anyone working to have it replaced?

https://talk.dallasmakerspace.org/t/epilog-laser-jammed-10-21/84878/4

1 Like

@michaelb Any idea if it’s going to be replaced? If so, we should order a handful. I suspect they get damaged by people autofocusing while the manual spring is flipped down.

Is the fusion down until the manual gauge is replaced? Sorry, complete newbie here…

I didn’t see a sign on it and proceeded to attempt to engrave a powder coated mug. It took several passes before making a legible image. I’m guessing I didn’t have it properly focused. I didn’t see this post until after beginning to troubleshoot after the first run.

I’m holding off on the rest of the work I had left until it’s shown to be resolved.

I believe @cvrana ordered the last one. He might have gotten spares, but I didn’t find them. I’m not sure if any more have been ordered. @trapezium might be able to order them as well.

The autofocus will work for flat parts in the meantime, but no the rotary is probably down until it’s replaced.

1 Like

I haven’t actually ordered anything related to the fusion in the past. The closest I’ve come is being the person who’s done the calibrations for the autofocus, but in terms of actually ordering pieces, that wasn’t me.

For clarity, what exactly on the fusion is broken? Is it the autofocus plunger, the manual focus spring, or something else?

The manual focus spring was missing for sure.

I’m not sure if the weak cuts I had were due to that alone, or if there was something in addition not working properly. I tried to set the height to what I’m assuming is the autofocus plunger.

Sorry then, David thought you had.

The manual focus spring is shot. It’s in the top of the yellow tools box.