:blankspace::blankspace:

:blankspace::blankspace::blankspace::blankspace::blankspace::blankspace:

1 Like

I’m an Army vet and support the right to protest. I also understand the “take a knee” movement isn’t a protest against our military our flag or our veterans.

12 Likes

Thank you for serving.

Perhaps it has become something else. Or I’ve confused the original protester’s statement. I get the reason for the protest, however it still comes across a disrespectful to the symbol of the country.
The police force does not represent the country.

Kaepernick had said: “I am not going to stand up to show pride in a flag for a country that oppresses black people and people of colour.

"To me, this is bigger than football and it would be selfish on my part to look the other way. There are bodies in the street and people getting paid leave and getting away with murder.”

Am I trying to start something? Not really.

This topic is about media bias and click baitey headlines/topic, and how issues can get muddled pretty quick.

And you think the military does?

3 Likes

That’s probably not true.

That’s certainly not true, or the thread title wouldn’t be “Freedom of speech > Patriotism?”, it would be “media bias and click baitey headlines” or “Ever notice how issues can get muddled pretty quick?”

In fact, a most of your recent threads seem designed to stir something up. That’s fine, especially in a democracy where free exchange of ideas and opinions help people understand themselves and others better, as well help work toward a general consensus on some things.