Food Scientists Here? Any interest in classes?

Hi I’m new here and joined mostly to learn and to build stuff with wood and other materials.
I’m a Food Scientist and “Culinologist” by education and career. M.S,
I love to teach and have several friends/food biz colleagues who are willing to teach, give demos and talks about food related topics…from basic bread baking, food preservation…acidification, dehydration, meats, to who knows what, nutrition topics, food microbiology…what do do with all those garden vegetables Can be kitchen science or more technical. Anyone interested? A couple of friends who are like me(early 60’s) have considered teaming up to form a food and beverage makerspace concept.
LMK if there are ideas, suggestions, interest…or no interest.I can try to coordinate.
Also other related on Biosciences, growing, etc.

9 Likes

I’d love to learn more about the various starches, gums, etc., that are used in “processed” foods. For example, one sees “modified food starch” a lot. Is that one particular product or a catch-all for any of a number of commercial starches? What is there to know about various such products and their behavior (e.g., heat, freeze, reheat stability).

I’m well familiar with the behavior of grocery store available corn starch and tapioca starch. Would like to learn about others.

I’m sure there are a lot of other topics I could think of…

2 Likes

I’d be interested in most everything you have mentioned! Sounds cool! And I’m ready to join in and take classes etc. Thank you for bringing these great ideas and shares to the DMS community!

You’re welcome! I’ll meeting with a couple of my colleagues who can help out at the DMS on Friday we’ll brainstorm some more ideas and the experts we know than can deliver them.