Electric bike hub types

I’ve had increasing interest in a DIY electric hub bicycle. This is becoming more feasible with the availability of Li battery packs and improved hub and mid drive motors. The general idea is to give a boost to the usual pedaling action and not strictly use a throttle to move the bike. But I wondered how many DMS folks have thought about it or were interested in it. There are a ton of cool engineering aspects to the implementation including torque controlled power assist, regenerative braking, battery technology, motor control.

But the reason for my post was really to point out something that I found that I thought was pretty cool for a non-geared hub drive motor. Apparently there are some hub motors that are really three phase induction drive motors rather than brushless DC or other technology. That can lead to some cool control techniques with the right controller. I’m no expert but my understanding is that variable speed control of 3 phase motors involves both a variable frequency and variable voltage. This is done with a VFD controller .

I came across several electric hub controllers on Alibaba and they mentioned that they were ‘sine wave controllers’. I was sort of excited because that sounded to me like a VFD, meaning there must some 3 phase electric bike hubs out there, meaning serious power, fine control and regen braking.

Unfortunately, the guys who sell these devices seemed clueless as to what they are selling. When I asked why ‘sine wave control’ in a DC system, I got answers like “Sine wave lower noise than square wave how many you want” I did not want to come out and ask if it was a 3 phase motor because I figured they might just say ‘yes’ not knowing what they were talking about.

However . . . I came across this controller and sure enough, it is described in pretty good english and says it controls 3 motor phases. It even mentions regen braking ABS braking.