Does DMS have Aspire for CNC?

Do we have Vetric’s Aspire for the CNC? I’ve been told we have Vcarve and Photo Vcarve but haven’t heard much on the second?

I don’t think so (yet). If they did, I could give classes on it right away. I’ve been using it for about 3 years.
Considering DMS is hosting a commercial class where Aspire will be used and several woodshop people will attend, I’m sure it won’t be long before it’s available.

Awesome. I’m honestly interested in using the CNC mill more for 3D carving than 2.5D and heard Aspire is going to be the best option for it since Vcarve gets a bit testy importing .obj files from other programs? Their feature to create a model from a black and white photo is kinda awesome.

We’ve talked about it and would like to have it. Unfortunately, Vectric does not discount Aspire a single penny, and the cost is $1995 - a lotfor something serving just a few users (including myself),

Understood. Is there a way to do the same thing in Vcarve if I do it in Fusion or something first? I’m trying to carve a moon surface among other things

Judging from the work Kee @fedakee has shown me recently, there is! He’s been doing 3D scans, modifying them in Fusion360, them importing the model to vCarve for cutting. He’s definitely pushing our knowledge boundaries outward. And I believe, he plans to offer a class in his techniques soon as well (I’m hoping to attend that one).

if it helps it should only be $1300 to upgrade from VCarve. their standard license allows it on 3 machines. I’m not sure about licencing for somehthing like our jump server.
-N

Vectric recently quoted me full price to upgrade, perhaps I got a clueless salesman though. They recently switched to an online key check for licensing, so you’re right, it will be a problem on the Jump server. I sure wish they’d create a makerspace edition of Aspire though.

1 Like