Does anyone here know how to make injection molds?

I can provide DWG/STP files, but looking to get some molds made, aluminum or steel.

Mold and Die making were/are considered the highest skill levels for machinists. The design of the objects will need considerable modification by someone with that experience to be likely to work for commercial injection molding. It is possible to DIY injection molding, but expect multiple iterations until you achieve a working production.

https://www.amazon.com/Secrets-Building-Plastic-Injection-Molding/dp/1878087193/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1484757868&sr=8-1&keywords=gingery+injection

2 Likes

I’ve been looking at this myself for use with the Carbon Fiber parts I’m looking to make, and @wandrson is ABSOLUTELY correct. I’m fairly new to machining, but already I understand how and why mold making is considered high level machining.

Lock down your material choice. This is the first question you will be given from a tool shop. Not only does it drive the details of your design (draft angles, wall thickness, etc.), it dictates the mold shrinkage value the tool will be made to. You could get 1,000,000 parts from a steel tool. You could go aluminum even with loaded a loaded material. You may be able to cut some cost of you can find an appropriate pre-made mold base from somewhere like www.dme.net. That doesn’t answer you question, but just some things to consider.

Oh I understand, and believe me I expect to pay for the work. I just figured before I pay some Chinese factory to do it, I would see if anyone here had the skills and wanted to earn some cash. Consider it paying back to the community.

I’ve not got a lot of experience with the HAAS, but my understanding is that with the appropriate skills, it could make the molds, so I figured I would check and see if anyone of our makers had the skills and wanted to give it a go.