Do I work for a non-profit if I've taught at the Makerspace?

Sorry for asking, just need to determine if this is appropriate. I’ve been doing job apps and listed some experience at Makerspace teaching 2 courses on something programming/software related and some fab-related tasks I’ve done for individuals on my resume, just because I thought it’d be relevant. Now that I’m along their recruitment process they want info on my most recent employment. I have not been employed in a while since I’m a student and only before in something a teen in highschool/college would do for money. So is it fine to list the makerspace even though I pay dues and half the stuff I’ve done has been for other people. The form asks for no references just for title, address, phone#, and job/position. The pre-interview form just autofilled the makerspace as my most recent employment.

I do not want lie or misinform any affiliation I have at the space, so would it be better to list my other unrelated part time work from years ago?

We do not have any employees but we do have independent contractors as honorarium instructors. You can list things you have done including volunteer classes and contract work you have done including Dallas Makerspace. But no you are not an employee of Dallas Makerspace.

3 Likes

I’d leave the Makerspace, but your title would be Contractor. That will tell any Human Resources person that you weren’t an employee. And, unless you get somebody who wants to, effectively, give you a reference, you’d also be your own supervisor. That way they don’t call DMS expecting us to give you a reference. Given how goofy the phone answering is at DMS, we might make their head explode if they tried to call us to see how your performance was.

6 Likes

haha … true … who knows what rating you would get anyway … we don’t keep track … yet

Since teaching a class is a volunteer opportunity at Dallas Makerspace. One can claim volunteer experience but not work/employment experience.

2 Likes