DMS Talk Flame Wars

The viciousness of DMS flame wars shocks me, I mean you have to see these people again in real life…

2 Likes

We are a large group of people that all work together towards many different goals. We also have a ever growing history with each other. We are going to bump heads, feelings are going to be hurt, and bad argument tactics are going to be used. But, after reading the words, make sure you also take time to look at the members actions. Actions have a much large impact than words. The members that you may hold issue with their words are often lifting more than their weight around the space. Though it may be in areas you don’t see. I work in sales and a common saying is, A customer’s words can be lies, but their feet tell the truth.

Also, Talk opens up conversation to the entire group, this allows for many more opinions. This is a good thing, the catch is it also lessens the impact of an individual’s opinion. So as an individual you will have to do more to stand out. Some do this by getting a small group to pile on, others do it by increasing the sharpness of their comments. But, take the words for what they are and watch for the actions.

A lot of it is hidden in members only categories - which is just fine with me. I miss DMS and look forward to being in the wood shop and CA again this fall, but I won’t bother getting involved. Made that mistake once, and I can be taught.

At more than 1500 members now it surprises me how few people are actually a part of the operations. It’s almost like that’s how it’s designed to function.

I’m not sure it is intentional design, but rather a byproduct of control structures. Certain members have a closer relationship with the core control group of DMS (the Board of Directors). This is a give and take relationship, these members are the members that are often “more” willing to take on assigned tasks (aka shit work). That being said this group can be jaded and closed to out side help.