Creating an Exterior Door

Hello guys, I am new to woodworking and I was wondering if anyone had any useful information to start designing and building a standard 36" wide rectangular exterior door with maybe a window on the upper portion of the door. My moms front door is broken and she doesnt want to buy a new one so I thought I would make one for her. Even if its just a link to a video or a website with information on the design process it would be greatly appreciated.

Videos online are your friend, Watch a number of them, each will show some trick or make some clear. This just a quick outline showing it may be easier than you think.

If this is a new opening, this is a structural modification that is significant and requires a building permit. Lots of folks probably don’t get these if they know what they are doing - they should … Makers, what I say. Could make selling house an issue without permit,

But the casing/jams around a door is significantly different that adjacent walls. Need to look at how these are made. Ther are typically sold as a unit.

If you are just going to replace the door assembly, that’s a totally different thing and by comparison easy.

If a 36" door is replacing a 36" door, you could just get the door. I wouldn’t.

I assume there is currently a 36" wide door, if a smaller one, you are back to the first case. If there is, pull the molding around the door. You will see the door is inside a frame that creates the door jams. There will be a gap all the way around and you’ll see pieces of wood/etc. inserted to align and hold everything in place.

The door frame will be secured to these and these to the house framing.

You will unsecure the old door and slide the new one in,square it up, insert peieces, secure everything, replace molding and your done.