Crazy guitar idea

Hello everyone. I’m new to the makers community and just joined DMS and I have a ton of crazy ideas but no idea on how to get them started, what classes do I need to attend to get the knowledge and where to start. This time I’m talking about an idea that has been bugging me for a while. I want to build (or try to) a clear acrylic (plexiglass) guitar. Has somebody ever made one? Is this even possible? any advise will be appreciated, I have no clue on how to begin. To be honest, I don’t even know if I’m posting this correctly.

2 Likes

They’re out there, so it’s definitely doable.

Most of these appear to be cast clear acrylic, then with the space for the guts routed out. That makes me think you might be interested in mold-making and resin casting, for which classes are occasionally posted on the calendar.

1 Like

Hi jast… I know I have seen electric guitars done this way, but I’m thinking more of an acoustic one… have you seen one? I think it would be cool to try… thanks for replying!

1 Like

Can you recreate the structure of an acustic guitar in clear acrylic? Sure. Will it sound like an acustic guitar, most likely not. Wood is selected for its vibrations, acrylic will not vibrate the same if at all. Electric guitar is going to be your best route if clear acrylic is the building material.

4 Likes

great… thanks for the info!

Welcome to Dallas Makerspace. You’re posting in the right place to ask questions.

As you become more familiar with DMS and how it operates and your questions become more focused, the topic categories might chnage.

If it is building the wooden component a better category might be Wood Shop.
If the component is the electronics (if electrical guitar) then maybe Electronics.

Not required - off topic is fine, but the some people tend to follow the ares they are interested in.