Cooking Classes- Sushi Making, Knife Skills, Knife Sharpening

Hi DMS Friends,

I’m a chef and would love to contribute to the community by teaching my craft in practice of 10 years. I was recently asked if I knew how to make sushi and if I could teach it. I can and would love to!

Am I allowed to teach food stuffs at DMS?

If I am allowed, please let me know if you are interested!

Thanks!

8 Likes

Nope, cause we can’t cook, due to no heat sources except microwaves/coffepots allowed…

oh, wait…

I only need to plug in a rice cooker

I am interested in knife skills and knife sharpening.

2 Likes

Me, too. I’ve looked at Youtube video and a CD from “Essential Pepin” for knife skills but I’m still not very good at it. I’d especially like to know how to prepare all sorts of vegetables.

2 Likes

Is it ok if it’s demonstrated and not consumed?
What people decide to do after the class is up to them.

1 Like

can you elaborate? Are you referring to a sushi class or the knife skills/sharpening class?

2 Likes

The sushi making - just wondering if you could demo sushi making and it be ok. Just trying to think of a way it could work for you.
The knife sharpening would be amazing.
Sign me up as interested in both.

1 Like

Nicole is referring to the fact that we don’t have permits, inspections, etc. for a “commercial kitchen”. If someone makes food that is consumed by other people, then it seems to fall into the definition of commercial kitchen.

1 Like

count me in for interested!

I’d love to attend a demo class of sushi being made, as long as we don’t eat in during class, as that would be wrong. :slight_smile:

What if there were stations and people just followed along with their own set up? Would they all have to bring their own ingredients or could the instructor provide?