Controlling LEDs with Raspberry Pi and BuckPucks

Hello all,

Although I have some experience with simple electronics and circuits, I am not as knowledgeable in electrical engineering and need some guidance with a project. I am attempting to individually control 4 LED’s on a Saber Z4 with a Raspberry Pi. I have three, 1000mA BuckPucks, and one 700mA BuckPuck as drivers for them. I also have a laptop DC power supply as a power source.

The LEDs are
POS 1:UV - 395nm; 675mW (LHUV-0395-A065):
POS 2:Red - 43 lm (LXZ1-PD02)
POS 3:Blue - 39 lm (LXZ1-PB01)
POS 4:Green - 118 lm (LXZ1-PM01)

I see that the BuckPucks need a 5V control signal but that a Raspberry Pi pins supply 3.3V, so I am unsure how exactly to figure this out. I would appreciate any advice or help with figuring out how to go about this.

Sincerely,
Nathan

Control Pin Voltage 10V

…according to both of the BuckPuck webpages.

Where did you read 5V?

I was reading this guide on how to control the LED’s from an Arduino. Perhaps the driver component has changed and my understanding was incorrect on the requirements. I suppose I should have read and figured it out better before buying the drivers if this is the case. Although the control voltage may be different, the end goal remains the same.

The only place I see 10v with respect to the control pin is the absolute maximum voltage, not the designed operational response.

It looks like 0V is on, 4.2V or higher is off, and a non linear response curve in between.

Is the goal to have brightness control? Or just on/off? If you want simple on/off, it looks like any of the Pi based relay boards can be used to short ref to ctrl for on/off control. I suspect using a transistor or two wouldn’t be too much more difficult.