Classes in general?

Thiss may not be the right area to post this, but I still have things to learn navigating this forum.I was thinking in trms of me teaching. I occurs I have things to learn being a teacher myself. If I were to offer an open ended course in the electronic lab, nothing formal to allow people to see what I have to offer and get to know people who might be interested in learning a bit more.When I say informal. No per Diem is involved. This would be an open discussion. From what I’ve seen classrooms can be a contentious issue at Maker space I have knowlwdge but am unsure how well I could teach. Training goes both ways.It is just a thought

3 Likes

Wendy - Glad to hear from you! We met during open house or a tour night in the ELab where I was discussing my Blynk into the Internet of Things classes.

When you say open-ended, I think you are meaning an open-ended series that may evolve over time. That would be great. I would encourage you to pick and work on one specific class for the start. Given your current condition, it is brave of you to be planning this. Identify someone that would work with you on the phone to help guide in class preparation and critique your plans. This should be someone who would attend your first couple of classes and be able to pick up and present the material if needed. Forget the:

Prepare a class and gladly accept the honorarium! I’m not an EE but play with hobby electronics and would be glad to help you do this if the subject is reasonable for me.

If parts are required for attendees, should they furnish them? To make it easy, I decided to be self sufficient on parts and furnish everything but a laptop for my electronics classes. I used three honorariums to stock and as I policy do not loan them out but I’ll make an exception of you if you can use them for a few times.