Casting Copper and Silver Using a Metal Forge?

Hello. I took a tour of DMS a week or two ago. My goal is very simple; I want to create 1 oz - 10 oz copper and silver bars. I want to melt down junk silver and copper, but I do not own an electric (large or small) or backyard (engineered or professional) forge like one might see on YouTube. Does Dallas Maker Space have one with a crucible? Does anyone here have experience doing this?

I want to make something like this:

Also, does DMS have a set of letters that one could imprint letters and numbers using a hammer. I’m not calling this the correct techincal terminology. Are there ways to engineer lettering using 3D printing, if the metal is still soft?

I’m a newbie and need help. Please point me in the right direction.

Neil

1 Like

Fired arts has a melting furnace.
So does Jewelry/Small Metal.

I know virtually nothing about JSM’s.
Here’s a thread with some (hopefully) useful info on the Fired Arts furnace, and processes.

You will need to supply your own crucibles, I think for the Fired Arts furnace, as they have one for aluminum only ( you do not want to cross contaminate)
JSM might have dedicated crucibles for those materials.

I am too ignorant of sizes and volumes and their relationships to assist on the letter/number punching equipment, and whether we have anything that could do such things or not. Depending on size, cheap-o sets can be had from the likes of Harbour Freight.

In my opinion, again, with large gaps in my knowledge, you’re looking for Jewelry/Small Metal assistance…
(1 Troy Ounce of Silver occupies ~ 3cm^3 of volume. I am under the impression this is a relatively small amount, but having trouble visualizing…)

EDIT: no idea what you’re asking with engineering lettering using 3d printing…

2 Likes

@nausser915 might be able to answer your questions.

1 Like