Broken greenware

I broke a piece of (my own) greenware. It is in several large pieces. Is there any way to patch it back together using clay or slip or anything?

It’s a decorative piece that doesn’t need any structural integrity.

It’s a handbuilt piece that probably has about 8 hours of work in it. If it’s not reparable I most likely won’t make it again.

There should be some Bisque Fix on the glaze shelf that can help. I’m not an expert on the stuff though, I just know it exists. I think its a 4 oz jar.

Isn’t that for bisque? Do we have any SP-mender or Aztec high fire mender?

My understanding was that I can be used pre-bisque fire as well. I will certainly let more of the ceramics team chime in here. @cmcooper0 @brendamvilla @Monikat

I’ve not see either of the others.

How dry is it? In general you can always save something…but its like a bad boyfriend. You need to be REALLY in love to make the journey worth while and even then its never quite right. Basic options.

1. Rehydrate with a damp box back to plasticity. Score and slip as usual with vinegar added. Make paper clay mix for big cracks. (This is the only truly reliable way)
  2. Fire broken. Bisque fix will show up under translucent glaze so either plan an opaque or glaze broken bits and E600 the finished ones. Better yet e6000 the bisque and cold finish.
    Never use bisque fix on greenware.
  3. Make a sloppy slip the texture of cake icing with vinegar. Workable, but as close to the current state of the clay as possible. Patch back together keeping vinegar soaked paper towels over the area. Repeat as it shrinks and new cracks appear.

Most ceramics people will advocate for a small funeral to wares that might of been and they’re not wrong. But I’ve had enough experiences with exploding senior projects that they can never make again that we’ve learned to resuscitate as much as we can haha