Bicycle frame restoration - question

Hello,

I’m new to makerspace, and was wondering if there is an abrasive blaster, or other piece of equipment, that I can use to strip down an old bicycle frame. I want to strip it down for powder coating.

Thank you for any tips!

Patrick

1 Like

We have a vapor hone which is like a sand blaster but the media us in water. A bike frame might fit. Might be challenging to flip it around to get all sides

1 Like

Cool! Where do I find training for it, or is there a certification class?

Thank you!

No certification is required. The are directions on the machine itself as it is in metal shop. It is in the about middle of the room.

1 Like

Awesome! Can’t wait to use it. Thank you all for your responses!!

there are rotary sanders that i do not believe require clearance. its how i usually do my bicycle rebuilds. I didnt even consider the vapor hone due to its small size but worth a check.

1 Like

It will be super tight for a small bike frame in the vapor hone.

Additionally some local abrasives places will be able to blast it for a modest fee if it won’t fit.

1 Like

@hon1nbo do you have any recommendations for local places that could?

I just had Quality Powdercoating sandblast some legs for a welding table, It was about $115.

2 Likes

Electrokoat is run by a member and I usually have them do stuff that wouldn’t fit in our oven or would have been too hard to jig up. They do blasting.

3 Likes

here are the phyiscal dimensons. someonee nice already addded to the dms tools wiki

3 Likes

harbor freight sells these kinds of units for like $20. i actually got a fixer upper bike last week unexpectedly so of course i’m already looking into an identical project as the OP

1 Like