Best materials for laser cut jewelry?

I’m a noob with the laser cutter… just took the intro class a couple of weeks ago. I’m wanting to do some laser cut wood jewelry and ornaments but I’m not sure what kind of wood/thickness to look for. I’m thinking 1/8" is a good thickness, but I’m not sure. I’ve scoured the forum and haven’t found anything. I’ve seen people online use bamboo but I’ve noticed that bamboo isn’t mentioned in the recommended materials list. I’d ideally like to use something that I can buy relatively easily since I was wanting to do this in the next week or so. Any suggestions? I’m excited to get going on this!

Are you thinking of making studs or dangles?

Dangles. Studs would be cool too, but I was thinking something along these lines: https://www.etsy.com/listing/212439273/rhombus-laser-cut-wood-earrings?utm_source=Pinterest&utm_medium=PageTools&utm_campaign=Share

1 Like

Inventables sells small amounts of hardwoods in 1/16 and 1/8 inch thicknesses. Affordable enough to experiment with. Small enough for small items like earrings. https://www.inventables.com/categories/materials/wood-mdf/hardwood

4 Likes

These are really pretty, I’d love to make some earrings in a geometric style like this as well. Now I’ve had to add ‘acquire thin hardwood’ and ‘make vectors for earrings’ to my to do list :slight_smile:

Have you already created your image files?

1 Like

There is (frequently) loads of scraps available for the pickings, either in the “scrap” sections or, if you’re not above dumpster diving, in the throwaways in the woodshop (I’d stay out of the actual dumpster, though) that could be used . Especially for testing…

4 Likes

I second the suggestion of checking the scrap bin in woodshop. I have some things I make that only need small thin pieces and I’ve found some great pieces of nice wood in that bin. I just fly through and check when I think about it.

Also have found nice wood scraps on ebay.