Anyone there tonight Thursday?

I want to learn stitching. I would like to make a pouch for a utility belt to use for costume and/or purposeful outdoor adventures. I have some tanned leather in a few colors and some tools. I did some hand stitching/sewing many years ago; but would be nice to learn an actual stitch not just wrapping thread in any old fashion. I work on the weekends and can’t make the classes. I have some experience with doing snaps and rivets and have the tools…just can’t do that for everything

don’t forget there are lots of HANDSTITCHING LEATHER videos on youtube

2 Likes

I just got my latest Make: magazine in the mail and there’s a primer on hand-stitching. Their web site makezine.com has several leather how-to’s.

1 Like

My wife did some of the hand stitching by watching those videos. I, for one, could not stay awake. Lol

2 Likes

Thanks you @nicksilva @jswilson64 I got a leather sewing awl and the instruction are not good and the hand-drawn pictures hard to decipher

@TBJK Haha, that will be the challenge for me too I’m sure :wink:

Have you taken the Leatherworking Basics class yet? Our tools can EASILY be trashed using them incorrectly which is why we have that class and training requirement. 3 classes in January taught hand stitching, but I know they filled up quickly.