Anyone into synthesis video/audio or otherwise

Poking around to see what the interest is within the community for all things audio/video synthesizer related like:
DIY (building oscillators, filters, amplifiers, sequencers, mixers, and other audio circuits.)
Modular
Noise/Effects boxes
???

The weirder, the better when it comes to this stuff…
check out Look Mum No Computer for inspiration.

3 Likes

I love Look Mum No Computer! A couple of buddies and I are into this stuff and I would be interested in learning more about it. I was just in electronics today looking at our oscillators and thinking about the possibilities…

I’m just getting into modular synths. I’m planning on building some gear over the winter.

I got 2 Berhringer Neutrons as starters, but haven’t had time to play with them much yet.

I also have a couple of 90’s vintage Roland MIDI synths.

I don’t know how he does it or what his background is, but I get a kick out of what he creates.

I’ve dipped my little toe in the waters of digital IC’s with simple 555 squarewave tone generators, but I’d like to create polyphonic oscillators using the 555 or 556 and link(mix?) their signals together. I picked up a chip called a “CD4040” which is a " 12-Stage Ripple-Carry Binary Counter/Divider" useful for subdividing a given frequency. I tthink this would be perfect for creating harmonic rich waveforms that could be the foundation of an additive synthesizer…

Nice! What kind of gear are you thinking? I’ve been thinking an easy way to get into modular would be to build a power supply/case. Instead of investing hundreds of dollars in a prefab case, make something substantially less.

roger arrick in Tyler owns synthesizers.com and is a former DPRG president and has made it out to the DMS this summer. Get a group of folks willing to learn, and I’ll call him and see if he’d do a webcast or something

5 Likes