Any Volunteer Activity Needed?

I have been trying to figure out how to have a reason to be more engaged in Makerspace for a few reasons listed below.
I am a real novice at almost everything so I may need a little more assistance than most, but that’s what I hope to overcome. woodshop is one of my 1st loves. Are there ANY activities I can help the team with for up to 10 hours a week, up to 3 days a week? Who can I talk to about this? Anything about administration, record keeping, cleaning, organizing, publishing, sharpening, or anything else that someone may be willing to train me on?

1 - This is a dream environment for me to explore a variety of creative activities when I decide to retire.
2 - I lost my job so am also looking for an outlet to spend time on activities outside of the job search. (if I don’t find something by June, I will retire anyway)
3 - I have taken most of the ‘how to use’ classes in my areas of interest, but need more hands on exercises to test my knowledge and gain confidence using equipment.
4 - Some of my future contribution may be to find ways to make the space less intimidating for new members.

11 Likes

There are a few “advanced” cleaning tasks that should be done more often than we have volunteer time to do them that may help you advance your intimate knowledge of tools in the shop:

• cleaning table saw blades and CNC router bits with cleaning solution and soft (brass bristle) brush.
  • vacuuming out the insides of the jointer and table saws.

There are certainly more, but those come to mind as having a relatively low barrier to entry.

Edit: when I say cleaning solution, I mean the stuff meant for removing wood gunk not a generic cleaning solution. We should have some floating around the shop.

2 Likes

There absolutely is! I’ll be at the space tomorrow night, if you’d like to see what we’re doing, and where you can help. Just ask for Brian.