Am interested in pinball restoration, how to get started

I am looking for a hobby, have always wanted to restore a pinball machine but I am a novice. What is the best way to get started? Are there regular times where a group is up at the makerspace either talking or working?

Any advice is appreciated.

1 Like

Paging @Team_Vector.

1 Like

Hi there, welcome!

What’s your experience with pinball? Honestly I didn’t have much at all before I thought it’d be fun to have one in the house for a party about 5 years ago… now I have 13 living here full-time. :stuck_out_tongue: Just beware they have a tendency to multiply!

Secondly, are you inclined in any of the areas of electronics, mechanical devices (including cleaning up such mechanisms), or painting/artwork? If so, you might wish to check Craigslist, Pinside, or Pinballowners to find machines lacking in whatever area you’re interested in so you can work on it and get it done. Now, getting a good deal on a machine could be a class in itself. :joy:

If you aren’t proficient in these areas, we convene once in a while to go over general procedures in cleaning and debugging mechanisms. Old games (40+ years old) are electromechanical in nature, thus relying purely on mechanisms actuated by basic solenoids, relays, and ladder logic to manage the game. New games have a lot of digital logic with microcontroller code to run the game logic/scoring and to control power transistors to actuate mechanisms.

Houston Arcade Expo is coming up this weekend, so most of us will be out there and are busy preparing for it now. But stay tuned to the calendar for our events!

2 Likes