Alibre vs FreeCAD

Hi all. I am moving away from Fusion and looking for a new software suite to spend my hours learning to use. By summer I’ll own a desktop CNC (not sure which yet). Does anyone have experience with both Alibre and FreeCAD? Alibre has a paid license, to which I’m not opposed. But if FreeCAD does well with 3D milling, not sure I need to bother paying for the Alibre license.

My initial use is simple 3D modeling for my 3D printer (I’m not a designer, but I like the parametric aspect and history tree feature of Fusion)…but then I’ll want to extend that same software skillset to subtractive 3D milling when I build my CNC.

Anyways, just curious if there is feedback from anyone who has tried modeling/milling with both. Thank you for your time.

2 Likes

Have you considered SolidWorks? You get a free license with your DMS membership.

I use it all the time for CNC routing and have done a handful of projects that I 3D printed.

I’ve got Alibre. I’ve used it strictly for converting STL files to solid bodies. Keep in mind it is a CAD only program. No CAM. As a CAD program, it is ok, but nothing special in comparison to other CAD programs. IMO.

@nicksilva the second tier of Alibre has a CAM component. I’m hoping to dive into an eco system I can use for both my 3D design and CAM needs.

At least with Alibre you can still actually BUY the software. I was going to suggest you look at BobCad but I see they are now using the extortion (I mean subscription) model, so never mind. I think SolidWorks might give you what you need.