Adventures of a New-to me lathe

So I have been poking around for a few months for a lathe. After months of watching I finally found a Monarch 10EE, Well it was in Salina, Kansas.

We went kinda back & forth on a date, which we were supposed to pick it up yesterday. The guy I bought it from ended up having to work yesterday so we just started driving up yesterday afternoon. I ended up with about plan E.5. The original thought was to call a wrecker to load it on my trailer, since the pick up got delayed until today, I figured I’d not bother them on Easter. Plan B/C was to rent either tilt bed or hydraulic tilt bed. I called around, allocated one & went to pick it up Friday. Well wouldn’t you know it, they ended up giving my reserved trailer to someone by someone not watching the paperwork. Plan D was to use my trailer & load it with my engine lift, in getting ready to load test, I found the cylinder was bad. So me & my son welded on the back of the trailer some angle iron to use the ramps/plate to pull it up. That pretty much worked for us, we did have a few modifications of how we’re pulled it up.

On the way up, North of Davis, we had a guy hit our trailer with his wheel on his car caddy trailer going 80. Thankfully the only damage he did was take out my rear light & subsequent fuse. He paid me for a new light & it only cost us an hour & a half in time.

We did stop on the way up at Pop’s in Arcadia. I was interesting, I think its once & blue moon type thing.

We did about 885 miles round trip, towing a trailer. Went through about 70 gallons of diesel, with the return trip having 20-25 mph head wind. Most of the trip we averaged probably 80. The only troubles we had was the guy hitting us & I lost a thin piece of wood between the lathe/trailer. That was due to what was my opinion was a built in Jump outside Tonkawa on 35.

So about the lathe.