Mini Drones as Weapons? Realistic or BS?

Here is a short fictional film about militarized mini-drones. Someone the other day asked me questioned me about how technology is involved with weaponry. It is ever more becoming a reality. From futuristic armor to futuristic weapons, I think we are moving there. The question is how would you defend against such things as in the video?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ecClODh4zYk

1 Like

Become a horrorcore fanā€¦
https://www.google.com/search?q=face+recognition+juggalo

Having spent multiple years in hell aka East Texas as a sporting goods manager I can say there are certainly many who believe this, those many howeverā€¦ Are not the greatest example of intelligent people and most believe qr codes are the mark of the beast. That said I can certainly see them being poorly weaponized by your average Joe as a one and done thing and certainly someone with large resources could go much further. If a company ever gets a delivery drone system up and running maybe this would be a legitimate concern

2 Likes

I have no doubt someone could, if they wanted, turn a quadcopter into a weapon.

It would be a tremendous waste of effort though. Most quads can barely keep themselves in the air for 10 minutes or so. Add a payload and that decreases, unless you increase the size of the quad. Itā€™s like rockets - a huge percentage of the vehicleā€™s weight is propulsion and fuel. Adding fuel means adding weight means adding more thrust (bigger props) means increasing the size (and weight) of the vehicle, rinse and repeat.

It would be far easier on many fronts to build a payload-capable fixed-wing ā€œdroneā€ (i.e., an r/c airplane). Thereā€™s a reason the C-5 Galaxy, Airbus 380 and Boeing 747 are all fixed-wing aircraftā€¦

Why use a mini drone when you could just harness the power of orbital satellite lasers!?

2 Likes

Swarm loaded w/ bio agents.
Anything can be used as a weapon
How resourceful/creative are you?.

1 Like