ISO Pattern Maker / Pattern Guru

Hello . . . I am looking to tackle a new cosplay from Game of Thrones and looking for someone to help me with pattern design. Is there anyone out there that would be willing to help me? I can offer to bring your favorite snacks . . . .

1 Like

Hey Becky,

I’m no pattern maker, so formal help I’m not good at. That being said, I’ve modified and used other patterns in ways not intended in order to make things for costume. I’m a fan of finding a pattern already made and changing things in it to make my project work. Joann’s has a ton of sewing patterns and every once in a while they go on super discount, like $1 each. I would modify and build from these as they tend to use construction techniques that I don’t formally know how to design in, but are often the technique needed to get certain effects I’m looking for.

http://www.joann.com/sewing/patterns/

1 Like

Thanks Nick! Yes I have a ton of patterns I think I can use, I guess I just need some expertise in how to manipulate them. I am no seamstress, just a beginner. So I may just need someone to bounce ideas off of. :slight_smile:

I am also not a seamster,

I’ve done many projects, but my technique is brute force. I buy cheap ugly fabric and build the item. Then, I look at it and see what needs to change and modify pieces. I then build a second one. I repeat step 2 and build a third. By this point I usually have something that works or is close enough that I’m confident I can modify it and build from the nice material. I seam rip the third version and trace the pieces on paper. I cut out my now personalized pattern and build my final.

That is my process, There isn’t anything to teach it is mainly trial and error with cheap ugly fabric. I’m not skilled enough to know what needs changing without looking and playing with the pieces. So I would say if no one jumps in as an expert, I would suggest you just try and brute force it.

1 Like