Gauging interest in RC flight classes

I am trying to gauge interest in classes on RC flight, as well as building planes/multirotors. I am by no means an expert, but I have plenty of experience (and plenty of crashes). Here are some example classes I could teach:

• Intro to RC airplanes
  • Intro to RC multirotors
  • Intro to FPV flight
  • Building a budget plane using the laser cutter and 3d printer
  • APM autopilot basics, setup, and tuning

Here are my main questions:

1. Would anyone be interested in these classes?
  2. Would anyone be interested in a recurring group fly event? Any suggestions for location?
7 Likes

I am interested in all but #2…

Used to make SPAD planes on the cheap out of coroplast signs and rain gutter pipe. Servos and the engine were the only expensive pieces.

2 Likes

Samuell Garland Park, Northwest Highway and Garland Road has an RC Airplane area.
http://www.dallasparks.org/Facilities/Facility/Details/SamuellGarland-Park-649

“RC Airplane Area” is pretty vague. I can only assume they mean small battery powered park flyers. …or is this a full fledged AMA field?

I like to fly .40 and .25 glow fuel engine planes.

I also have quite a bit of experience and a number of planes ,however, I’ve not flown in a number of years. I’d be interested in your classes. Do we have a flight simulator that you know of like Real Flight?

It doesn’t appear that we have RealFlight currently, but I will work on getting it. I am familiar with that field at NW Hwy and Garland road, and I would definitely say nitro is probably not a good idea. There is a football stadium right down the street from DMS, with a big open parking lot. It might make a good flying site, but I’m not sure if the police would run us off.

Discussion about RealFlight here: Do we have a copy of RealFlight?

They used to have the round paved areas for the line control stunt plane things. I don’t think there is (or ever was) any infrastructure there other than that.