2013 Chevy Traverse "Lower Bushing" Help

My wife took her 2013 Chevy Traverse to NTB yesterday for an oil change and tire rotation and they advised the “lower bushings” could be moved by hand and badly needed to be replaced. She mentioned it has been driving a little different with a slight vibration. NTB quoted $700+ for parts and labor. I have no experience with suspension repair, or brake repair, but I have replaced the engine on a 1985 firebird twice (what a story) so I know how to work a wrench (and break off bolts, break every vacuum tube in the engine, etc… lol). Is there anyone that knows what needs to be done based on this problem description that would be willing to help me fix this and avoid paying NTB? I am not yet signed off on the lift but figured this would be a perfect opportunity to get signed off. I am happy to provide lunch/beer, a huge thank you, and some $ if needed, and I am willing to get my hands dirty and do the work, I just need someone to tell/show me what to do (and what parts to buy). I appreciate the consideration!
-Ryan

Probably going to be more economical to replace the control arms and bushings (that model has one internal and one external bushing I believe).

Parts from rock auto are not expensive.

Labor - (yours) at the space is dirt cheap with some help from folks like me. It is a bit time consuming yes.

You will have to have an alignment done (not possible at the space)afterwards & Zach has posted an economical place in the past.

3 Likes

When a vehicle is in serious need of an alignment, as this one will be after parts replacement, it’s clear that the sooner the better, but practically speaking when does it really become an issue, as in how far (mileage), or how fast (speed)?

Marshall,

Tire wear is a good indicator of alignment. Proper inflation (is a key element for tire life)